Legends League Baseball

Welcome to The Legends League, a fantasy baseball league hosted by ESPN
HomeCalendarGalleryFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 


Go down 

Posts : 178
Join date : 2009-11-27
Location : North Carolina

PostSubject: COMMISSIONER'S CHALLENGE!   Sat Apr 02, 2011 2:34 pm


ENTRY DEADLINE: Wednesday, April 7th 7:30pm ET. Submit entries via email to the Commissioner.

DETAILS: Last year we held a Home Run Derby...this year it's all about the pitching. Welcome to the 2011 Legends League Strikeout Derby! This challenge will run the full length of the season and result in big points to the owner who is the best at picking the top pitching aces. The event will be broken into two halves. The first half will last until the All-Star Break, and the second half will span from the All-Star break until the end of the regular season.

Pitchers have been divided into four brackets A, B, C, D based on their 2010 total strikeouts:

A – Jered Weaver, Felix Hernandez, Tim Lincecum, Jon Lester
B – Roy Halladay, Justin Verlander, Dan Haren, Ubaldo Jimenez
C – Clayton Kershaw, Cole Hamels, Ryan Dempster, Jonathan Sanchez, Francisco Liriano, Yovanni Gallardo, CC Sabathia, Colby Lewis
D – All other pitchers

1) Each owner must put together a team of eight pitchers:

- One (1) A player
- One (1) B player
- Two (2) C players
- Four (4) D players

2) This is not a draft. You may choose any players you want.

3) Your top seven pitchers' K's are counted toward your total. Your lowest pitcher's total is dropped and will be used as a tiebreaker if two or more owners are tied at the end of the challenge.

4) The season is divided into two halves-- First Half/Second Half. The owner with the most Ks at the All-Star break wins the First Half of the challenge.

5) During the All-Star break, owners will pick a new set of players using 2011 stats. The owners' totals will be reset to 0 and the contest will start over. The owner with the most strikeouts at the end of the regular season wins the Second Half of the challenge.

6) The owner who compiles the most overall strikeouts through both the first and second halves of the season will be our Strikeout Derby Champion and will be awarded 10 bonus Commissioner's Cup points.

Points will be awarded as follows in both the first half and second half:
1st = 45pts
2nd = 40pts
3rd = 35pts
4th = 30pts
5th = 25pts
6th = 25pts
7th = 20pts
8th = 20pts
9th = 15pts
10th = 15pts
11th = 10pts
12th = 10pts
13th = 5pts
* Owners must enter to earn points
**Owner with the most overall strikeouts (1st/2nd Half Total) receives 10 bonus points
***Owners tied for a position each receive the full points shown above (Ex: two owners tied for 7th each get 20 pts)

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
» AA name Oceania Challenge team for Cairns
» Trooper Challenge 5K Mud Run-AG win!
» Bulldog Challenge Sr. Boys Basketball Tournament Dec 15-16
» 2011 AFC adidas Fall Challenge
» League Challenge Cup June 1-3 and June 8-10th, 2012

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Legends League Baseball :: General :: League Discussion-
Jump to: